Explore Ellington, Missouri History.  Ellington was formerly known as Barnesville and Logan's Creek

Photograph by Jesse Jones


Ellington Missouri History |  Historic Landmarks | Historical Places in Ellington, Missouri

For a directory of Lodging, Bed and Breakfast Inns, Hotels, Cabins, Cottages and Campgrounds, Ellington, Missouri, please click here.  All of our fine hosts are ready to help plan your Missouri history tour of Ellington, MO.

1895 Map Arcadia Valley Region & Black River Recreation Area
1895 of Ellington, Missouri and the surrounding Area

Ellington, Missouri ~ History and Landmarks, Reynolds County, MO
Formerly Barnesville and Logans Creek

Grand and historic Buford House, now privately owned and lovingly restored.


Thomas Barnes and his young family left North Carolina in 1835, first settling in Pilot Knob. After two years, this resourceful man decided to move his family once again. Their new destination: Along Logan Creek outside of what is now known as Ellington. Soon Barnes built a water wheel for corn and grain, and a distillery that produced whiskey. Within a short time, a small settlement arose with a church, school, stores and homes and the settlers named it in his honor ~ Barnesville. Pioneers were pleased and village stores were prospering. Merchants made two-week trips to St. Louis by ox-cart to purchase their stock and to trade their hides and furs.

When the Civil War began, Confederate soldiers moved into southeast Missouri from Arkansas, through the wilderness on the Bellevue Trail, and formed permanent camps at Van Buren, Barnesville, and Lesterville. With the trail and the area villages in its possession, their next move would be Fort Davidson. The Union wanted to protect Pilot Knob as well as St. Louis and sent the Union Calvary on missions throughout the area settlements. They made many raids, wounding, killing and taking Confederate soldiers captive. Determined to completely rid this area of the Confederates and their sympathizers, they continued raiding and burning villages to the ground. During this time, the Union constructed Fort Barnesville nearby. No doubt this was to ensure the Confederates did not again regain control of the important trail through the wilderness.

In 1868 (after the war) William Copeland, started rebuilding this town on 80 acres that were owned by Sina Ellington. He opened a crude store and encouraged settlers to come back to the area. Soon Barnesville was renamed Ellington, and in 1893, Copeland’s sons decided to make a new town site where the town sits today. This village grew slowly until the timber industry brought many new families and businesses. The Missouri Southern Railroad arrived in 1896.

Soon, several one and two-room schoolhouses were scattered throughout the small communities in the area, each employing a teacher that taught the basics to children grades one through eight. High schools came to the Ozarks slowly. Higher education required a handsome price and many miles of travel. The region’s first high schools were “academies” with tuitions. It would be 1913, before free rural high schools began to open, due in large part to the efforts of Senator Carter M. Buford, an Ellington citizen. The Missouri Legislature passed a school bill introduced by Senator Buford. Ellington area schools were the first to be consolidated in Missouri. With consolidation, “bussing” was needed to transport area students to school. A wagon with a cab overhead, pulled by a couple of horses, was the areas first “bus”. In 1939, the Bull Moose (a single motorized train car) was used throughout the area to provide student transportation. (The tracks have since been removed).

Today, several businesses that came to the area during the early 1900s are still in operation. Be sure to stop and visit the Reynolds County Museum located on Main Street when visiting historic Ellington. Tour Fort Barnesville nearby.  Click here for more information

Ellington Methodist Church est. 1887, present building constructed 1913
Ellington Masonic Hall built in 1893
Charming homes and early 20th century architecture.

For lodging and accommodations near Ellington, Missouri area click here.

Charming roadside park outside of Ellington Reynolds County Museum on Main Street housed in schoolhouse built in 1890. Ellingto School built 1913 as a Federal Public Works Project

If you are researching genealogy in Ellington, Missouri, please see
this genealogy page for helpful information and resources.  Better yet, travel to our region for a
family history vacation and see for yourself! 


Back to Historic Towns Directory


Back to Home Page
River Valley Region Association
Bringing Travelers the Best of Missouri
Historic Towns and Landmarks


First Settlers in Missouri Reynolds County Missouri History Historic Towns Directory Maps & Directions Contact Us